New Mexico Tech congratulates several staff members at the Bureau of Geology and Mineral Resources and one conference, which have all won awards recently.

Peggy Johnson, hydrogeologist at the New Mexico Bureau of Geology and Mineral Resources, is the 2002 winner of the John C. Frye Memorial Award in Environmental Geology for Water, Watersheds, and Land Use in New Mexico: Impacts of Population Growth on Natural Resources, the 2001 Decision-Makers' Field Guide to the Santa Fe region. The award is given annually to recognize the outstanding paper in environmental geology published by a state survey or by the Geological Society of America during the preceding three years. The award, given in cooperation with the Association of American State Geologists (AASG), will be presented in October at this year's annual meeting of the Geological Society of America, in Denver, Colorado.

Johnson is also the 2002 recipient of the Karl Souder Water Protection Award presented annually by the New Mexico Environmental Law Center. The award recognizes the water protection efforts of an outstanding individual or organization that has made significant contributions to the protection of New Mexico's water. The New Mexico Environmental Law Center, an environmental law and advocacy group, works to protect New Mexico's communities and their environments through public education, legislative initiatives, administrative negotiations, and litigation.

Ron Broadhead, principal senior petroleum geologist and associate director at the Bureau, was the 2002 recipient of the Monroe G. Cheney Science Award for singular contributions to the science of petroleum geology. The award, presented by the Southwest Section of the American Association of Petroleum Geologists (AAPG), was presented in June at the section meeting in Ruidoso, New Mexico.

Broadhead also received the A. O. Leverson Memorial Award for best paper presentation and the AAPG Southwest Section meeting in Ruidoso for his paper titled "Geologic structure and petroleum source rocks of the Tucumcari Basin, wast-central New Mexico."

William D. Raatz, carbonate stratigrapher and petroleum geologist at the bureau, received the A. L. Cox Award at the Southwest Section meeting of the AAPG in Ruidoso for his poster presentation titled "Bias in cyclic sedimentation toward deposition during sea level turn around points: An example from the Late Pennsylvanian (Missourian Beeman Formation) of the Sacramento Mountains, south-central New Mexico."

The Bureau's 2002 Decision-Makers Field Conference in the San Juan Basin received the Best Practice Award from the Interstate Oil and Gas Compact Commission, Council of State Regulatory Officials. The accompanying guidebook, titled New Mexico's Energy, Present and Future: Policy, Production, Economics, and the Environment, was edited by Brian S. Brister and L. Greer Price.