KUDOS to several deserving Techies who have recently achieved great things! Press releases are in the works for each of the people/groups below.

Cember Hardison, an environmental science major, was awarded an $850 scholarship by the American Association of University Women. Congratulations, Cember! AAUW is a national organization dedicated to encouraging higher education for women.

On March 1, 2003, Fort Lewis College held its 19th annual programming competition. New Mexico Tech sent four teams. Out of the 13 teams there, Tech took the top four places. Team members were:

1st: Paul Ming, Evan Nelson, James Kearney
2nd: Alex Rand, Manuel Schroeder, Clark Haskins
3th: Wade Brown, James "Egypt" Lee, William Kwan
4rd: Richard Byrne, David Catanach, Mike Bencomo

Congratulations to Ryan M. Kruse for having been recently named the New Mexico Tech Engineering Student of the Year. Kruse is a senior majoring in electrical engineering. Congratulations are also extended to Engineering Student of the Year runnerups David A. Ladner, Aaron A. Prager, and Shannon Gaddy Ferrell. Ladner is a senior majoring in environmental engineering; Prager is a senior majoring in computer science and electrical engineering; and Gaddy Ferrell is a senior majoring in materials engineering.

The New Mexico Tech Physics Club won the Blake Lilly Award from the Society of Physics Students (SPS) this year. The award is given to SPS chapters that have outstanding outreach activities. SPS only gives these awards to two chapters each year.