Student Appreciation Awards

by George Zamora

SOCORRO, N.M., May 3, 2004 -- "FOR ALL YOU DO . . ." Six New Mexico Tech students recently were honored as this year’s recipients of the prestigious New Mexico Tech Student Appreciation Awards, in recognition of their demonstrated service and leadership at the university. Student Appreciation Award recipients are chosen each year on the basis of their “demonstrated service to fellow students and community, generosity of spirit, and performance above and beyond the call of duty,” according to the award criteria. Pictured from left to right at the recent awards banquet are: senior George Schmaltz; Tech President Daniel H. López (who presented the awards); freshman Sydney Ryan; junior Manuel Schroeder; junior Leo Rodriguez; and senior Erik County. (Not pictured is Student Appreciation Award recipient Ashley Hendricks.)