Tech Launches Presidential Search Forums

SOCORRO, N.M. August 24, 2015 – The New Mexico Tech community is invited to provide input for the upcoming search for a new university president.

Members of the Presidential Search Committee and Alberto Pimentel of Storbeck/Pimentel and Associates will be on campus to kick-off the New Mexico Tech presidential search with a series of meetings Thursday, Sept. 3.

Dr. Daniel H. Lopez has been the president of New Mexico Tech since 1993 and officially announced his retirement earlier this year, effective June 30, 2016.  

The upcoming meetings present opportunities for campus and community constituents to meet with the committee to share thoughts and comments regarding the work to be done at the Tech and how that informs the position announcement and search process. Specifically, the Search Committee is most interested in exploring the following questions:

1.     From your perspective, what are the issues and priorities that the next president must address in the next three to five years?

2.     Given these issues, what qualities and experiences must the next president possess?

3.     What are the most attractive attributes of New Mexico Tech and how might those be used to attract the right candidates?

The search committee is chaired by Jerry Armijo and Donald Monette, members of the Tech Board of Regents. Other committee members are Emma Aafloy (staff), Nourradine Benalil (PRRC), Ron Broadhead (Bureau), Dr. Michaelann Tartis (faculty), Dr. Warren Ostergren (V.P.), Dr. Richard Sonnenfeld (faculty), Holm Bursum III (community), Joann Salome (staff), Gabe Montoya (student).

As a valued member of the New Mexico Tech community, we invite you to participate in these important meetings. Each constituent group will be scheduled to meet with the Search Committee for 45 minutes and the time schedule of sessions is attached for your convenience.

The Presidential Search Committee will meet with Dr. Lopez at 8 a.m., followed by a series of sessions in the third floor ballrooms of the Fidel Center:

  • 9 a.m.: Vice presidents, assistant vice presidents and division directors
  • 10 a.m.: Faculty open forum
  • 11 a.m.: Deans, senior administrative staff
  • Noon: Students (lunch will be provided)
  • 1 p.m.: Staff
  • 2 p.m.: Faculty
  • 3 p.m.: Search Committee meeting
  • 4 p.m.: Community Meeting (until 5:30 p.m.)

The committee expects many constituents to participate; therefore, the committee encourages people to prepare thoughts and comments prior to the meeting.

For those individuals who are not able to attend these constituent meetings or would like to provide input following the meetings, comments and feedback will be accepted via https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/NMTFeedback.

For more questions, contact JoAnn Salome, Director of Human Resources, at jsalome@admin.nmt.edu or 575-835-5955.

– NMT –