Four Stand-Outs Named 2014-15 Macey Scholars

SOCORRO, N.M. April 24, 2014 – New Mexico Tech has announced the four winners of the Macey Scholars Program awards for the 2014-2015 school year. The program is Tech’s most prestigious academic scholarship, awarded to upperclass students.

The 2014-2015 winners are juniors, representing different departments. All have stellar academic records, community service, extracurricular activities and glowing recommendations.

The winners:

  • Kyle Benalil, Socorro: mechanical engineering, minor in aerospace
  • Claudio Gonzales, Albuquerque: math and computer science (double major)
  • Nathaniel Miller, Albuquerque: electrical engineering and physics (double major), minor in math
  • Torrie Sewell, Lovington: chemical engineering

 Extended feature articles about each winner will appear on this website soon.

The Macey Scholarship is among the most prestigious scholarships awarded at New Mexico Tech. The program is named after 1942 New Mexico Tech graduate William B. Macey. Mr. Macey has been among the biggest supporters of New Mexico Tech over the years, including significant contributors to the Macey Center building fund in the early 1980s and the Macey Family Children’s Center in the 2000s.

The scholarship is available to undergraduates who are U.S. citizens, have completed at least 30 semester hours at New Mexico Tech and have a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.4. Macey Scholars receive an award of $5,000.

For the complete list of all the Macey Scholars throughout the years, click here.

– NMT –