Tech Now Accepting Macey Scholar Applications

SOCORRO, N.M. February 17, 2014 – New Mexico Tech is now accepting applications for the William B. and Jean M. Macey Scholars Program for the 2014-2015 school year.

The Macey Scholarship is among the most prestigious scholarships awarded at New Mexico Tech. The program is named after 1942 New Mexico Tech graduate William B. Macey. Mr. Macey has been among the biggest supporters of New Mexico Tech over the years, including significant contributors to the Macey Center building fund in the early 1980s.

New Mexico Tech undergraduate students who are U.S. citizens, have completed at least 30 semester hours at New Mexico Tech and have a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.4 or greater are eligible. Faculty and staff members can nominate students, but nominated students still need to file an application. Those selected as Macey Scholars will receive an award of $5,000.

Students interested in applying for the scholarships should pick up an application from the Associate Dean for Student Success at the Registrar’s office or online by clicking here. The deadline for returning application is 5 p.m. Friday, March 28.

Those interested must provide a statement of no more than two pages describing why he or she should be considered for designation as a Macey Scholar. Students are also required to submit at least two letters of recommendation from professors, researchers and other mentors. Letters of reference should be sent directly to Elaine DeBrine Howell, Associate Dean for Student Success C/O Macey Scholars Program

The selection(s) will be based upon accomplishments in the classroom and/or research laboratory together with institutional service and other activities that have brought credit to you and to New Mexico Tech. These accomplishments could include awards, honors, membership in campus organizations, part-time jobs, service to the university, research endeavors and other relevant activities.

The Awards are distributed during the academic year following selection. One must be currently enrolled at New Mexico Tech in order to receive the scholarship. 

Questions should be directed to Elaine DeBrine-Howell at 835-5208.

– NMT –

By Thomas Guengerich/New Mexico Tech