Tech Starts New Strategic Plan Initiative

SOCORRO, N.M. December 3, 2013 – New Mexico Tech has officially kicked off the process to develop a new Strategic Plan, which will be used to help guide the university’s near future.

Graduate Dean Dr. Lorie Liebrock is the chair of the Strategic Plan Committee, with management professor Dr. Frank Reinow and Vice President Melissa Jaramillo-Fleming serving as facilitators.

The committee held a series of open forums on campus in September and October in preparation for the initial committee meeting.

The committee includes representation from academic departments, research divisions, students, staff offices, an alumnus and community leaders.

The committee has been tasked with drafting a comprehensive Strategic Plan that can help guide the university’s activities and will be a widely disseminated public document.

Faculty members are Drs. Tom Engler (Petroleum), Mike Hargather (Mechanical Engineering), Michael Heagy (Chemistry), Snezna Rogelj (Biology), Steve Simpson (Communication), Richard Sonnenfeld (Physics), Bill Stone (Math) and Jolante Van Wijk (Earth Science).

Staff members are Iver Davidson (Distance Education), Joe Franklin (Information Services), Sara Grijalva (Registrar), Colleen Guengerich (Advancement), Steven Hicks (Restricted Funds), Vice President Dr. Van Romero (Research) and Pat Valentine (Earth Science).

Members from research divisions are Nouraddine Benalil (PRRC), Bob Bezanson (EMRTC) and Matt Heizler (Bureau of Geology).

Student members are Collin Hellwig (undergrad) and Gabrielle Miller (grad).

Community members are state Rep. Don Tripp and Socorro County manager Delilah Vega-Walsh (both of whom are also Tech graduates).

John Dowdle represents the alumni.

– NMT –

By Thomas Guengerich/New Mexico Tech