Macey Scholars Named For 2013-2014

SOCORRO, N.M. April 17, 2013 – New Mexico Tech has announced the 2013-2014 Macey Scholars, the university’s top academic award, usually given to four rising seniors.

This year’s winners:

  • Kelsey Meyer, junior, Materials Engineering
  • Jacob Brown, junior, Biology
  • Alex Stringer, senior, Electrical Engineering
  • Tyler Robinson, junior, Environmental Engineering

Tech will profile each of these four outstanding students very soon. Each of the four winners submitted an essay and letters of recommendation from professors and researchers.

Named after the university’s most generous donor, the Macey Scholar award is Tech’s most prestigious scholarship, and includes an award of $5,000. The Macey Scholars will organize and present a campus-wide seminar about their topics of interest during the 2014 spring semester.

The 2012-2013 Macey Scholars will present their current research and/or topics of current intersest this week – at 2 p.m. in Cramer 221. The current Macey Scholars are Laura Montoya, Hannah Sullivan, Sohaib Soliman and Brian Stanley.

Mr. Bill Macey graduated from New Mexico School of Mines in 1942. He has been New Mexico Tech’s strongest supporter over the years. He donated more than $1 million for the construction of the Macey Center. Macey has also staked matching funds for other donations for the construction of the new Children’s Center.

Macey Scholars are chosen for their academic accomplishments – both in the classroom and the research laboratory – as well as their community service, participation in extracurricular activities and character.

– NMT –

By Thomas Guengerich/New Mexico Tech