Four Standouts Named 2011-12 Macey Scholars

SOCORRO, N.M. May 10, 2011 – New Mexico Tech has selected four stellar students to be the 2011-2012 William B. and Jean M. Macey Scholars.

The four students are Ahmed Hussien, civil engineering; Nikki Porch, biology; Alyssa Rose, chemical engineering; and Lindsay Snyder, biology.





Ahmed Hussien

Civil Engineering

Los Lunas H.S.

Click here for a
profile of Ahmed

Nikki Porch


Gallup H.S.

Click here for a
profile of Nikki

Alyssa Rose

Chemical Eng.


Click here for a
profile of Alyssa

Lindsay Snyder


Aztec H.S.

Click here for a
profile of Lindsay

Macey Scholars are academic standouts, as well as “super-citizens.” They represent the best of and most well-rounded Tech students – brilliant young scientists and engineers who are involved in their communities and give of their time to worthy causes.

“Our 2011 Macey Scholars are especially deserving of this honor with their generous contributions to their fellow students and the Socorro community in addition to their exceptional scholarship,” said Elaine DeBrine Howell, the scholarship committee chair.

The Macey Scholarship is among the most prestigious scholarship awarded at New Mexico Tech. The program is named after 1942 New Mexico Tech graduate William B. Macey. Mr. Macey has been among the biggest supporters of New Mexico Tech over the years, including significant contributors to the Macey Center building fund in the early 1980s.

“New Mexico Tech is very fortunate to have the generous support of the William B. Macey family to recognize some of our most outstanding students,” said DeBrine Howell. “I am in awe of the strength of character and stunning accomplishments of this year’s winners.”

Macey Scholars are Tech undergraduate students who are U.S. citizens, have completed 30 semester hours and have a cumulative GPA of 3.4 or greater. Qualified students apply for the program, along with nominations from faculty and staff members, employers and research associates nominate students. Those selected as Macey Scholars receive an award of $5,000.

The selections are based upon accomplishments in the classroom, research laboratory, service projects, volunteerism, awards, honors and other activities. Each of the 2011 winners have an impressive resumé, full of research projects, internships, volunteer work and extracurricular activities. They are all well-rounded young scientists and engineers who have marked their careers at Tech with academic achievement, campus involvement and devotion to helping others.

– NMT –

By Thomas Guengerich/New Mexico Tech