Student Appreciation Awards 2007

Student Appreciation Awards

by George Zamora

Photo: (back row, left to right) Nathan Goulding (Tau Beta Pi); Tobias Hartman, and Graham Walsh. (front row, left to right) Victoria Aston (Tau Beta Pi); Jason Speights; Ariel Dickens; Darla LeBlanc (Tau Beta Pi); Irwin Gabay (standing in for his son, Samuel Gabay); Jerimiah Robbins; and Jason Kooi.

SOCORRO, N.M., May 7, 2007 – Seven New Mexico Tech students and one Tech student organization recently were honored as the recipients of this year’s Student Appreciation Awards, an annual award given to students deemed to have best demonstrated leadership and service at the state-supported research university.

This year’s individual winners are Tech students Ariel Dickens, Samuel Gabay, Tobias Hartman, Jason Kooi, Jerimiah Robbins, Jason Speights, and Graham Walsh.

The New Mexico Tech chapter of Tau Beta Pi, the national engineering honor society, was awarded the 2006-2007 Student Organization Appreciation Award.

Student Appreciation Award recipients are chosen at the end of each academic year on the basis of their “demonstrated service to fellow students and community, generosity of spirit, and performance above and beyond the call of duty,” according to selection criteria.

Several New Mexico Tech students and student groups were nominated for the prestigious awards by their professors, campus employers, and fellow students.

This year’s awardees were then chosen by the New Mexico Tech Student Appreciation Awards Committee, which is comprised of representatives from various departments and offices throughout the university campus.