EE Majors Awarded ITEA Scholarships, April 26, 1999

SOCORRO, N.M., April 26, 1999 -- Michael Davis and Michael Schumacher, both seniors majoring in electrical engineering (EE) at New Mexico Tech, recently were named the recipients of two $1,500 scholarships awarded this year by the White Sands Missile Range (WSMR) chapter of the International Test and Evaluation Association (ITEA).

Both students were chosen for the prestigious awards on the basis of their demonstrated academic excellence.

Davis is a graduate of Gallup High School, and Schumacher is a graduate of Westminster High School in Westminster, Md.

Davis and Schumacher were informed of their recent honors by William Rison, chairman of New Mexico Tech's EE department, and Henry Newton, WSMR chapter president of ITEA.

During a recent awards ceremony, Rison and other Tech EE faculty joined Clinton Janes of the National Radio Astronomy Observatory in presenting scholarship checks to the two Tech students. Janes, a member of ITEA, served as proxy for Newton and represented the WSMR chapter during the awards ceremony.