Academic Affairs


The Office of Academic Affairs

The Office of Academic Affairs, headed by the Vice President for Academic Affairs, is charged with the management of the College Division of New Mexico Tech, which includes all faculty members and Academic Departmentsthe Dean of Graduate Studies and the Center for Graduate Studies, the Dean of Engineering, the Dean of Arts and Sciences, the Registrar, Skeen Library, Academic Center for Technology (ACT), Community Education and Outreach Program, and Veteran Affairs.

Mission Statement

The Office of Academic Affairs serves as the locus for both faculty and students, helps to ensure the primacy of the institution’s educational responsibilities, and supports faculty and students in their contributions to scholarship, creativity, research, design and the discovery of knowledge appropriate to the institution’s mission.

The Office of Academic Affairs facilitates student learning and success through the following activities:

  • supervises student academic programs and academic support offices;
  • serves in the appeal process for any student academic policy or concern;
  • oversees responsible student academic conduct;
  • leads student learning initiatives, their assessment and, when needed, revision;
  • collaborates with Student and University Relations in co-curricular support programs and with Research and Economic Development for support in research opportunities;
  • collaborates with all offices for initiatives to expand retention, persistence and completion.

The Office of Academic Affairs supports faculty development and success through the following activities:

  • upholds academic freedom, freedom of expression, and shared governance while maintaining accountability to our students and other constituents and to our accrediting and regulating organizations;
  • supports regional, national and international conference participation;
  • provides and supports on-campus pedagogical workshops;
  • encourages academic departments in strategic planning for their programs;
  • advises the management of academic departments and academic programs;
  • advises all other matters related to faculty responsibilities.



What does FERPA mean for parents and students? See FERPA


Facts & Figures



Macey Scholars

CONGRATULATIONS 2015 Macey Scholars!

Tobias Burger, Jared Canright, Andrew Hunt, Kevin Reed, and William Sullivan

       Read about each of the 2015 Macey Scholars 


       The complete list of Macey Scholars throughout the years.



Distinguished Researcher Award 

Congratulations to Dr. Mark Person, recipient of 2016's

Distinguished Researcher Award

                               2016grad-person-IMG 3858


Read more about Dr. Person's Research and award here.

Distinguished Teaching Award

Congratulations to Dr. Kevin Kirk, recipient of 2016's Distinguished Teaching Award


    2016grad-kirk-IMG 3860

Click here for the full article on Dr. Kirks's award.


Distinguished Teaching Award Winners

  • 2016 - Kevin Kirk, Biology
  • 2015 - Mehrdad Razavi, Mineral Engineering
  • 2014 - Michael Riley, Chemical Engineering
  • 2013 - Nadir Yilmaz, Mechanical Engineering
  • 2012 - Frank Huang, Environmental Engineering
  • 2011 - Maggie Griffin-Taylor, Communication, Liberal Arts,  and Social Sciences
  • 2010 - Paul Arendt, Physics
  • 2009 - Jeff Altig, Chemistry
  • 2008 - Gilbert Kerr, Mathematic
  • 2007 - Warren Ostergren, Mechanical Engineering
  • 2006 - Al Smoake, Biology
  • 2005 - Clint Richardson, Environmental Engineering
  • 2004 - Robert Cormack, Psychology
  • 2003 - Carl Popp, Chemistry
  • 2002 - Mark Cal, Environmental Engineering
  • 2001 - Donald Weinkauf, Chemical Engineering
  • 2000 - Deidre Hirschfeld, Materials Engineering
  • 1999 - Emily Nye, Communication, Liberal Arts, and Social Sciences
  • 1998 - Ken Minschwaner, Physics
  • 1997 - Paul Fuierer, Materials Engineering
  • 1996 - Laurel Goodwin, Earth Sciences
  • 1995 - William Rison, Electrical Engineering
  • 1994 - Nicholas Haddad, Electrical Engineering
  • 1993 - John McCoy, Materials Engineering
  • 1992 - William Stone, Mathematics
  • 1991 - David Westpfahl, Physics
  • 1990 - Frank Etscorn, Psychology
  • 1989 - William X. Chavez, Jr., Mineral Engineering
  • 1988 - Ross Lomanitz, Physics
  • 1987 - Alan Gutjahr, Mathematics
  • 1986 - Howard Sylvester, Communication, Liberal Arts, and Social Sciences



801 Leroy Place   |   Socorro, New Mexico 87801   |   Phone: (575) 835-5227   |   Fax: (575) 835-5649   |   Email: Academic Affairs